Marriage License Filing Requirements in Texas County, MO
The Applicants must:
- Visit our office together to apply for a marriage license between 8AM and 3:45 pm M-F. Closed from noon to 12:30pm for lunch.
- Be 18 years of age or over.
- Present a valid government issued picture ID.
- Pay $51.00* cash fee at the time of application (Sorry, no checks or credit cards).
- Pick up and give the license to the person performing the ceremony before the wedding.
- Have a ceremony performed within 30 days from the date of issuance in the State of Missouri.
- NOT be related to each other through and including first cousins.
- If the Applicants are under 18 their custodial parent must come with them to give consent and sign the application.
Effective August 28, 2018
Senate Bill 655, which was passed by the Missouri Legislature and signed into law, prohibits marriage licenses from being issued if either party is under 16 years of age. Additionally, the legislation bars the marriage of individuals 21 or older to anyone under age 18. Parental consent will still be required for minors to marry someone under age 21.
All marriage license applicants will be required to provide proof of age to the Recorder of Deeds through a certified copy of their birth certificate, passport, or other government-issued identification. The Recorder will document this proof of age.
Previously Married Applicants
Must give the date their last marriage ended. Persons divorced less than 30 days may apply for a marriage license if they acknowledge, in writing, they understand the divorce can be appealed or set aside within 30 days by the court of jurisdiction.
Unused Marriage License
- If the license is unused, the parties must return the license to the Texas County Recorder of Deeds office or it is deemed a misdemeanor in the state of Mo.
- If the license is lost, destroyed, the parties must return to the Recorder’s office to sign an affidavit.
- If the license is not used it still must be returned to the Recorder’s office.
Return and Record of Marriage
The person performing the ceremony is required by law to return the completed license to the Texas County Recorder of Deeds office within 15 days of the ceremony. It is a misdemeanor in the state of Missouri if the document is not returned.
Copies are available as soon as the marriage license has been returned and recorded. Name changes require a certified copy and by state statute will cost $9.00.
After the Marriage
Name Change and Marital Status Information
A certified copy of your marriage license is required by Social Security and the Driver’s License Bureau to change your name. You may obtain a certified copy for $9.00 (set by state statute) at the Recorder’s office once it has been recorded or send a written request, along with payment and a stamped, self-addressed envelope.
Any Drivers’ License Bureau Office
Social Security Administration
1612 Imperial Rd.
West Plains, MO 65775-2628
1813 E. 10th St
Rolla, MO 65401
County Clerk’s Office
County where you are registered to vote
Texas County Clerk: 417-967-2112
Questions or Comments?
- Email Recorder
- Or call 417-967-8438